Vanilla バニラ

image

Lunch set + dessert at vanilla gastro bar & cafe at Recency House.

It is a day that I finally brace myself to go try out the food at this little shop that is all plain white and decorate like a cosy house with fine wines.

I have their lunch set that was priced at $10.90 that comes with a drink. (choice of soft drink, tea or coffee). Despite being a small shop, the lunch set selection is pretty decent and I have a hard time choosing and decided that I will have smoked salmon with tomato and basil pasta.

First to come is my cup of tea that was serve in a sweet tea cup. It was out of my expectations to see it served in a nice flowery teacup as I have expected that the tea comes in a plain white tea cup to match the atmosphere of the store. A normal cup of twinnings tea bagged earl grey in such pretty cup brighten up my day for the food.

The pasta came and it was served in a claypot. I was pretty amused with the use of claypot as to me, claypots are just for Chinese food. The presentation of the food added marks to the taste of it. To my surprise, the pasta is spicy. For the 1st mouth, I can’t really say I will like the dish, but after a few mouthful of it, the taste grew in me. The spice level is comforting and it did not steal the limelight of the smoked salmon and tomato taste. What was lacking was that the basil taste was sadly covered by the chilli padi spice. Besides just plain salmon, real chopped bacon bits are added in. Overall, it is a nice fusion combination. And added points is that the food is served piping hot!

With such nice tea cup, I couldn’t resist but to order a dessert too. I ordered a vanilla dirt cake ($8.90) that comes in a flower pot with gummy worms. It is rather cute. The taste was pretty light. It is vanilla creme with chocolate cookie crumbs. The crumbs acts as soil for the presentation of the dessert. And hence it has a name as dirt cake. The downside of the dessert was some parts of the cake is still in semi frozen state. It is a dessert that you have to take time to eat it off slowly seeping up a cup of tea or coffee.

Overall, the place is decent for chill out.

PS: They have a wide selection of wines too

About saltnvineyard

A boring person with my resin tenants and randoms

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 79 other followers

